Argentina Monster

Argentina is located in the southern part of South America, bordered by Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, Brazil to the northeast, Uruguay and the South Atlantic Ocean to the east, and Chile to the west and south. It is the eighth-largest country in the world and the second-largest in South America.



Argentina’s climate varies widely, from the hot and humid subtropical climate in the north to the cold and windy climate of the southern Patagonia region. The Andes mountain range affects the climate by blocking Pacific moist air, creating arid conditions in the west and fertile plains in the Pampas.


Argentina boasts a diverse range of wildlife, including pumas, jaguars, capybaras, and Argentine black and white tegus. The country’s bird species are numerous, including the iconic Andean condor.

Longest Rivers

  • Paraná River: This river is one of the longest in South America, running through Brazil, Paraguay, and Argentina.
  • Uruguay River: It forms a part of the border between Argentina and Uruguay.

Highest Mountains

  • Aconcagua: Located in the Andes, this is not only the highest peak in Argentina but also the highest in the Americas, standing at 6,959 meters (22,831 feet).


Prehistory to European Arrival

Indigenous peoples such as the Diaguita, Guarani, and Mapuche inhabited Argentina for thousands of years before Spanish explorers arrived in the 16th century.

Colonial Period

Argentina was part of the Spanish Empire, with the region being initially part of the Viceroyalty of Peru and later the Viceroyalty of the Río de la Plata.

Independence and Growth

Argentina declared independence from Spain on July 9, 1816. The 19th century was marked by internal conflicts between federalists and unitarians, shaping modern Argentina.

20th Century to Present

The 20th century was characterized by military coups, economic highs and lows, and significant social changes. Argentina returned to democracy in 1983 and remains a prominent regional power.


Argentina has a population of approximately 45 million people. It is ethnically diverse, with a population consisting mainly of descendants of Europeans (primarily from Spain and Italy). There are also significant Arab and Asian communities. Spanish is the official language, and the predominant religion is Roman Catholicism, though there is significant religious diversity.

Administrative Divisions

Argentina is divided into 23 provinces and one autonomous city, Buenos Aires, which is the capital and largest city. The provinces are:

  1. Buenos Aires Province: 17 million
  2. Córdoba: 3.6 million
  3. Santa Fe: 3.4 million
  4. Mendoza: 1.9 million
  5. Tucumán: 1.6 million
  6. Entre Ríos: 1.3 million
  7. Salta: 1.3 million
  8. Misiones: 1.1 million
  9. Chaco: 1.1 million
  10. Corrientes: 1.0 million … (other provinces vary in population)

10 Largest Cities by Population

  1. Buenos Aires: 15 million (metro area)
  2. Córdoba: 1.4 million
  3. Rosario: 1.2 million
  4. Mendoza: 1 million
  5. La Plata: 800,000
  6. San Miguel de Tucumán: 800,000
  7. Mar del Plata: 650,000
  8. Salta: 550,000
  9. Santa Fe: 530,000
  10. Corrientes: 350,000

Argentina Country Codes

Argentina, known officially as the Argentine Republic, is represented by several international codes that are essential for various global operations, including telecommunications, international trade, and identification in global organizations. These codes ensure that Argentina is correctly identified in different systems worldwide.

ISO Codes

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) assigns specific codes to countries for standardized identification across different platforms.

  • ISO 3166-1 alpha-2: AR
    This two-letter code is widely used for internet domains, shipping labels, and other international systems to denote Argentina.
  • ISO 3166-1 alpha-3: ARG
    The three-letter code is used in contexts where a longer, more recognizable abbreviation of the country name is necessary, such as in sporting events and international conferences.
  • ISO 3166-1 numeric: 032
    The numeric code is used in data processing and international trade to ensure precision and avoid confusion with alphabetic codes.

Telecommunications and Internet

In telecommunications and the internet, specific codes are assigned to Argentina to facilitate global connectivity and communication.

  • Telephone Country Code: +54
    This code is dialed before the local number when making an international call to Argentina, ensuring that the call is routed correctly to the country.
  • Internet TLD: .ar
    The top-level domain (TLD) for Argentina is used for websites registered within the country, helping to identify and associate them with Argentina.

International Organization Codes

Various international organizations use specific codes to identify Argentina, ensuring consistency and standardization in global systems.

  • FIPS Code: AR
    The Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) code is used by the United States government for geopolitical data processing.
  • IOC Code: ARG
    The International Olympic Committee (IOC) uses this code to identify Argentina in the Olympic Games and related sporting events.
  • NATO Code (STANAG 1059): ARG
    This code is used by the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) for purposes of standardization among its member states.

Financial and Statistical Codes

In financial markets and statistical databases, Argentina is represented by unique codes to ensure accurate data reporting and processing.

  • Currency Code (ISO 4217): ARS
    The currency code for the Argentine peso is used in global financial transactions and currency exchange.
  • UN M49 Code: 032
    The United Nations assigns this code for statistical purposes, ensuring uniformity in data collection and reporting across different countries.

Other Codes

According to Abbreviation Finder, additional codes are used in various contexts to represent Argentina in global systems:

  • ITU Code: LU
    The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) assigns this prefix for radio and television broadcasts, ensuring proper identification of Argentine stations.
  • WMO Code: AG
    The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) uses this code for weather-related data and forecasts specific to Argentina.
  • MARC Code: ag
    The Machine-Readable Cataloging (MARC) code is used in library systems to identify works published in Argentina.

Education Systems


Education in Argentina is free and compulsory from ages 5 to 18. The country has a strong education system with numerous public and private institutions.

Top Universities

  • University of Buenos Aires (UBA): One of the top universities in Latin America.
  • National University of Córdoba: The oldest university in the country, founded in 1613.
  • National University of La Plata: Known for its research and natural history museum.



  • Ministro Pistarini International Airport (Ezeiza): The largest international airport in the country, located in Buenos Aires.
  • Aeroparque Jorge Newbery: Handles domestic flights and is also in Buenos Aires.


Argentina has an extensive railway system, totaling about 36,000 kilometers, though only a fraction is in active use today for passenger and freight services.


The country has over 230,000 kilometers of roads, with major highways connecting Buenos Aires to other major cities and regional areas.

Major Ports

  • Port of Buenos Aires: The largest and most important port in Argentina.
  • Port of Rosario: One of the largest inland ports in the country, located on the Paraná River.
  • Port of Bahía Blanca: Specializes in agricultural exports.

Country Facts

  • Population: 45 million
  • Capital: Buenos Aires
  • Languages: Spanish (official)
  • Major Religion: Roman Catholicism
  • Currency: Argentine Peso (ARS)
  • ISO Country Codes: AR, ARG, 032
  • International Calling Code: +54
  • Top-Level Domain: .ar